The Glade 4.0

"Turn the lights down, the party just got wilder."
It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:53 pm 
Offline
adorabalicious
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:54 am
Posts: 5058
Verizon router has no guest access, have a party coming u, want wifi to reach all the way on property and wanted something that does ac standard.

Buy a nice asus ac3200

Discover how horrible of a nightmare it is to try to bridge this old actiontec pos they gave me.

cant waste anymore time on it before party.


:psyduck: :psyduck: :psyduck: :twisted: :evil:

_________________
"...but there exists also in the human heart a depraved taste for equality, which impels the weak to attempt to lower the powerful to their own level and reduces men to prefer equality in slavery to inequality with freedom." - De Tocqueville


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 2:54 pm 
Offline
Grrr... Eat your oatmeal!!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:07 pm
Posts: 5073
why not just not provide wifi? They are there for a party: not to play on their devices.

_________________
Darksiege
Traveller, Calé, Whisperer
Lead me not into temptation; for I know a shortcut


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:09 pm
Posts: 733
Won't help you for this party, but maybe get Verizon to send you a new router? Mine has a guest Network.

Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 4:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:40 am
Posts: 4281
You could probably just set the new router up as a DHCP client and have it hand out wireless guest access and nothing else for now. When I got my new router I just called and had them add it to their system, then I pulled the old ISP pos completely off the network. Everything works much better now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 9:42 pm 
Offline
adorabalicious
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:54 am
Posts: 5058
I ended up letting the verizon router handle dhcp and used the new one as an access point, disabled wifi on verizon router. It got the guest net setup in time for party. I'll work on an actual bridge later.

Thanks everyone.

_________________
"...but there exists also in the human heart a depraved taste for equality, which impels the weak to attempt to lower the powerful to their own level and reduces men to prefer equality in slavery to inequality with freedom." - De Tocqueville


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 4:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:40 am
Posts: 4281
Elmarnieh wrote:
I ended up letting the verizon router handle dhcp and used the new one as an access point, disabled wifi on verizon router. It got the guest net setup in time for party. I'll work on an actual bridge later.

Thanks everyone.


Nice, glad you got it working in time for the party.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group