The Glade 4.0

"Turn the lights down, the party just got wilder."
It is currently Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:54 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:49 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Got a second instance of EQ set up today for my Shaman, Lehnis, and both windows (on separate spaces) were running at 72fps according to the in-game meter.

Still no video card fan noise :P

BTW this is with Luclin models disabled, everything else as high as it can go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:27 am 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
So I'm poking around as suiddaru. Being level 2, a cleric, with a club and no party in original EQ is.... Hard!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:49 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Two box yourself a companion! It'll make those tough-to-group times much better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:05 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Anyone not wanting to sit through the tedium of leveling casting skills early on...

You can hotkey a spell and tape/hold down the key. That works on Al'kabor :p


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:32 pm 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
I'm on a 2006 MacBook pro ;) ati x1600... Two box might be trouble ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:40 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
What FPS do you get with one instance running? You can hit F in-game to see.

Honestly.. This is EQ we're talking about here. People were two-boxing back in 2000. I'm sure your hardware can handle it :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:00 pm 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
56FPS ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
Ok, so I got some confirmation from Utdann, and I'll be ordering one of these next time they're in stock. Should make a nice little media hub (DVD player, streaming) as well as for playing EQ.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:23 pm 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
Suiddaru on AlKabor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
Just thought I'd tag in here, I'm finally messing around on Al'Kabor, re-made in my original form. Jemi.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:36 am
Posts: 3074
This is probably a stupid question, but if you have a Mac with EQ Mac installed, I assume you can also create a separate Windows partition and play regular EQ from there, yes?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:48 pm 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
Yes, but EQMac is regular EQ - its proper old school planes of power EQ.

Windows EQ is a weird monstrosity that is nothing like EQ.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
So with the new launchpad updates, my 11" macbook Air from 2010 is playing EQ great- high settings, nearly no lag.

I forgot how hard the early levels were completely untwinked! I died more times leveling up to 5 than I had (outside of raiding) in years!

Lots of fun, though.

Re-made my first char- a human monk named Baner. Yes, it was a randomly generated name. It definitely feels oldschool.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:30 pm 
Offline
Peanut Gallery
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 2207
Location: Bat Country
I'm kicking it old school. what server should i waste my life on? :)

_________________
"...the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?" -Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
There's just the one :-D

I've got Nephir (ranger) sitting at 29, and Baner (monk) sitting in the teens.

Not rich, but I'm sure I've got some decent gear sitting somewhere around if you want it.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:05 am 
Offline
Peanut Gallery
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 2207
Location: Bat Country
Is there an easy way to get back to the original starting areas? I don't want something new!

_________________
"...the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?" -Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
Are you, in fact, playing on EQmac?

If so, you should be in the old starting areas, since the game is frozen not too long after the Plains of Power Release, in 2003.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:34 am 
Offline
Peanut Gallery
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:40 pm
Posts: 2207
Location: Bat Country
Ack, wrong thread. -_-

_________________
"...the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?" -Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:28 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Anyone still current on AK? I'm playing again.

Lenas - 30 ranger of course
Bona - new cleric


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Mook's Pimp Skittle Stable
Infrequently.

Some people to play with might change that, though- I've got a 30 ranger as well.

_________________
Darksiege: You are not a god damned vulcan homie.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:03 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Had someone help me out with Cleric gear because I couldn't find any in the Bazaar... Market could definitely be better. I figure 150 wis at level 9 isn't too shabby, though :) Trying to PL what little I can with Lenas but it's pretty slow-moving playing a melee Cleric with low level Ranger buffs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:30 pm 
Offline
Eatin yur toes.
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 823
I have a 47 cleric if you need some buff.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:54 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Traded a Stonewood Compound Bow for a Tolan's BP the other day. Considering I'm still level 35 I think it was a very worthwhile trade! More people with access to EP's now than ever, and you could farm Trak for 6 months without ever getting a specific drop. I'm never letting it go, used it on my PC-side Lenas daily up til the day I quit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:17 pm 
Offline
Rihannsu Commander

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:31 am
Posts: 4691
Location: Cincinnati OH
Jealous. That was the one ranger clicky that evaded me. I was a huge proponent of the ranger as a jack of all trades class. Had 2-3 bags of clicky/proc weapons.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: EQMac Free-to-Play
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:25 pm 
Offline
Web Ninja
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 8244
Location: The Tunt Mansion
Same. My PC Ranger even has three of the five pre-update Plane of Mischief resistance flowers active at all times, which always maxed my resists on raids. Was awesome. I had a ton of clicky effects, my favorites of which were the Ssra Cursed BP, necro amulet and Tolan's BP.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group