The Glade 4.0

"Turn the lights down, the party just got wilder."
It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:52 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 6459
Location: The Lab
Posting this here rather than in tech because it's kinda specific to EQ.

When I'm running 3 toons in game, I'm running two instances of eqgame.exe on one system, and sometimes (not always) both instances seem to be running on the same processor core. I'm not having any serious lag issues, but occasionally I get some CPU contention (my settings are pretty much maxed) when both .exe's are on the same CPU core (one core hits 100% while the other is nearly idle).

In the past you could just go into the process list in task manager and right click the process to set the CPU affinity. This is no longer possible for me. I think I read some posts on the eqlive forums lead me to believe that this was an intentional change made by the EQ developers at some point in the past.

I'm having a hard time finding anything specific on the eqlive forums, just because there is so much vague, and outdated information there.

The system I'm running two instances on is running Win7 64bit with an Intel E8400. This CPU is plenty fast enough to handle two instances of EQ on max settings when the processes run on separate cores. I would just like to get the two .exe's to run on separate cores to take full advantage of the hardware. Kind of irritating that it's not automatic.

I haven't done much to try to compensate by changing game settings, because it's really just an annoyance and hasn't caused me any serious problems.

**Edited for clarity (probably still needs more work).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 3899
Little out of my realm of expertise I am afraid.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:49 pm 
Offline
pbp Hack
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:45 pm
Posts: 7585
Other games allow you to set your core afinitiy via their own files. Did you peruse eqclient.ini for a plausible setting.

Also ask grouse what he did when you see him in game.

_________________
I prefer to think of them as "Fighting evil in another dimension"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group